Welcome to the National DRM Platform for South Africa and the Southern African Region

This is the official website of the South African National Digital Radio Mondiale (DRM) Platform. But this does not mean that the organization is limited to South Africa only. The platform is open for every organization in the Southern African region including Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Mauritius, the Democratic Republic of Congo and the island state of Seychelles.

DRM is the world's only open standard, digital system for short-wave, medium-wave/AM and long-wave with the ability to use existing frequencies and bandwidth across the globe. DRM+ is the extension to DRM which has been standardised under ETSI in 2009 and will be standardized under ITU rules in 2010. It offers the certitude to regional and local broadcasters to take part in the digitalisation of radio also at higher frequencies.

The The DRM Consortium is an international not-for-profit organisation composed of broadcasters, network providers, transmitter and receiver manufacturers, universities and others. Within this organization, national platforms have been set up to support the national development of digital radio incorporation the DRM standard, such as currently Germany, USA, Russia, France and Spain. The South African platform is the youngest national platform within the DRM family.